Thursday, April 30, 2009

Miles Franklin Award

The shortlist for the Miles Franklin Award was announced on 16 April 2009.

The short listed books are:

The Pages - Murray Bail
Breath - Tim Winton
Ice - Louis Nowra
The Slap - Christos Tsiolkas
Wanting - Richard Flanagan

The Award will be drawn on 18 June 2009.
For more information, or the Award long list visit the Miles Franklin Award website.

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Online Catalogue Issues

If you are using Firefox as your browser, you may experience problems using our Online Catalogue. In particular, there are problems with renewing and reserving items.

For the time being, please open Internet Explorer and use the catalogue in that browser. If you use Internet Explorer as your browser when renewing or reserving items there should be no problems.

The problem is being worked on and we will let you know when it is fixed.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused.

Monday, April 27, 2009

Review Your Books and Win!

To celebrate Library and Information Week, 25 - 29 May 2009, Rockdale Library is giving 2 library members the chance to win a $25 Borders gift card.

All you have to do is share your thoughts about an item you’ve enjoyed to go into the draw to win. The winners will be drawn on 29 May 2009.

Find the item you’d like to review in the Library's catalogue
Click on Add your review in the the full item record
Enter your ID and PIN
Your library card barcode is your ID
Your PIN is your date of birth in the form dd/mm/yyyy
Rate the item out of 10 stars
Write your review - the review must conform to the guidelines below to be published and entered in the draw for the prize.

When Adding a Review:
*Use complete sentences, with proper punctuation and capitalization.
*Do not use ALL CAPS
*Use appropriate language
*Don’t use multiple punctuation marks …!!!
*Check your spelling and grammar
*Tell us why you liked or didn’t like the item you are reviewing
For more guidelines please see How to Add a Review

Terms and Conditions
Competition closes at midnight 28 May 2009
Promotion closed to Rockdale City Library staff and relations
Two winners will be drawn randomly by computer
Each winner will receive one Borders gift card to the value of $25. A total of 2 winners will be drawn
Prize not redeemable for cash or other products
Prize can be collected from the branch library of your choice within 28 days of the draw
Library card and ID required to collect the prize
Winners will be notified via phone or email within 24 hours of the draw & results will be displayed at each branch library

Saturday, April 25, 2009

1st Wednesday book group

The next meeting of the 1st Wednesday book group will be on 6 May 2009 at 10.30am. The group will be discussing A fortunate life by A. B. Facey.

If you have read this book, feel free to come along and join the discussion.

For more information please call Natalie on 9562 1821

Monday, April 20, 2009

Morning Tea at Arncliffe Library on 7th May

Please join us at Arncliffe Library on 7th May for Australia's biggest morning tea!
This event is to raise awareness and money for the Cancer Council.

There will be cakes and tea and coffee available.
A booksale will also be running all day.

Australia's Biggest Morning Tea
Thursday 7 May 2009
10am - 5pm
Arncliffe Library
11 Firth Street

For more details please phone Arncliffe Library 9562 1816

Wednesday, April 15, 2009

Public Holiday Closures

Rockdale Library and the libraries at Arncilffe, Sans Souci and Bexley North will be closed on Saturday 25th of April 2009 for the ANZAC Day Public Holiday.

The libraries will reopen at their usual hours on Monday 27th April 2009.

We apologise for any inconvenience.

Saturday, April 4, 2009

NSW Premier's Literary Awards

On Tuesday 24th of March the Premier of NSW , Nathan Rees, announced the short list for the NSW Premier's Literary Awards and introduced a new prize - The People's Choice Award.
The Awards will be announced on Tuesday 18th May 2009.

The shortlisted Authors are:
Christina Stead Prize for Fiction & People's Choice Award
Helen Garner - The Spare Room
Kate Grenville - The Lieutenant
Julia Leigh - Disquiet
Joan London - The Good Parents
Steve Toltz - A fraction of the Whole
Tim Winton - Breath

The People's Choice Award is voted on by the residents of NSW. You can vote on you choice of the above titles by going to the Premier's Literary Awards website. You have until midnight on 11th May to vote.

For more information or short listed titles for the other categories please go to the Premier's Literary Prize website.