Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Barbara Jefferis Literary Award

The winner of the Barbara Jefferis Literary Award was announced on Friday 27th of March 2009.

The winner of the award for 2009 is Helen Garner, The Spare Room

The shortlisted novels for the prize were:
Geraldine Brooks, People of the Book
Helen Garner, The Spare Room
Zacharey Jane, The Lifeboat
Toni Jordan, Addition
Joan London, The Good Parents
Alice Nelson, The Last Sky

The award is offered annually for “the best novel written by an Australian author that depicts women and girls in a positive way or otherwise empowers the status of women and girls in society” (from Barbara Jefferis Award on Australian Society of Authors website)

No comments:

Post a Comment